Quincy was surveyed on May 26, 1825.
The gridwork of streets surrounding the Gadsden County Courthouse materialized when the county surveyor was ordered to commence Quincy's survey on May 26, 1825. What resulted was a rectangular town plan, running east to west from Duval Street to Calhoun and north to south from King Street to Clark. The network of trails through the virgin wilderness were named for prominent Americans of the first quarter of the 19th century including Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Madison and Monroe; Secretary of War, John C. Calhoun and Secretary of the Treasury, William H. Crawford. Also included are Florida's first two governors, Andrew Jackson and William Pope Duval. Our sixth President and town namesake, John Quincy Adams, assumed office less than 3 months before the survey commenced. The final town plan resulted in forty residential blocks, consisting of two lots each, surrounding the nine-block town Square with perhaps one or two houses per block. Each had corresponding outbuildings including barns, privies, smoke houses, kitchens, bath houses, offices and servant's, initially slave, quarters. Eventually the lots were subdivided and today, many antebellum houses still exist in Quincy's Historic District in and amongst the various architectural styles which evolved through-out almost 200 years of history.